After You (Me Before You # 2) by Jojo Moyes

It has been a while since I have read Me Before You, but I still remember how much I loved this book. Wait. Let me rephrase that: How much I love this book!

To be fair, I have been worried from the start that the sequel will not be as good as the first book. And it is ( in my opinion) true: The story is not needed. Even though I read the whole book in one sitting, I was seriously thinking about stopping several times throughout the book. The story was written to satisfy the craving in the minds of Lou and Will’s fans. When we’ve loved a book, we all have those questions: What will the characters do now? What comes next? But these are natural questions following all loved books. It does not necessarily mean a book should be written to answer those questions.

Due to Wills death Lou lost a lot of her spirit. She is much more reflective and lost her positive outlook on life, which I tried to accept. But even in the end she seemed to be gloomy and not at all how I perceived her to be after reading the first book. She has nothing in common with the old Lou, which I think even though it is understandable, is disappointing. She attends a Moving On support group, but she is not moving on. She works a lousy job, wears dreary clothes and tries to keep her family at arms length.

Fortunately, an accident sends Lou back to her parents who are, at the beginning, the same overbearing parents we met in the first book.

I am quite positively surprised at how the old characters were introduced. I liked the way how Wills Mum was displayed in the book, as I thought she gained quite a few “nicer” traits.

The new male character who is introduced in the book is nice, but that´s it. There was no emotional connection like I had with Will.

Taken as a whole I am missing the rollercoaster ride I experienced while reading the first book. I cried and laughed so much while reading it and I think it is hard to top that with a sequel, which was not meant to be.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

