The Moonstone (Enchantment #1) by Evelyne Contant

29241744.jpgTitle: The Moonstone

Author: Evelyne Contant

Genre: Fantasy

Publication: February 21st 2016

Pages: 342

Find the book here: Amazon

Summary:

Fear, love… and betrayal; that’s what I feel about my new life.
It’s a life I never asked for, at least not like that.
I certainly dreamed of adventure, of escaping from my ordinary life, but nothing prepared me for what would happen when my normal life flipped upside down.
On that fateful day, a witch, a real one, revealed to me that I’m not human! That’s right, I, Lou Mills, am an enchanter like her! It seems that I’m the key to an ancient prophecy and that I must save the world from the imminent war between humans and enchanters. What waits makes no sense; in fact, nothing seems to make sense to me since meeting her.
And then there’s this man…dark and mysterious…but so attractive. If only I could forget him. Duality is the way the Earth remains in balance, black and white, right and wrong, love and hate. What side should I fight for when the war finally breaks out? How to choose between my family…and the people who I belong to?

(via goodreads)

Review

The book was beautiful and I absolutely hate to wait until the next in the series is published.

“Good and evil are just a matter of perspective. They’re opposites that are separated by a fine line.”

It starts of slowly and the author takes her time in building the world. I liked this because that way one really gets to know every detail and the mood is set for the story. The real action starts after the first quarter of the book and by then it really gets interesting. So much is happening, that I am amazed this is only one book. The characters were amazing. I love Lou. She is relatable: She loves books, library and solitude, three aspects which I enjoy myself. She is loyal to her friends, optimistic and enjoys life.

The evil counterpart however, I can’t seem to figure out. I liked him, then I did not, then I liked him again.  And then I despised him. And the whole process repeats. There was just something about him which drew me in. Probably not his obsessive side. I don’t know. Evelyn, why would you do that to me????? I WANT TO KNOW THE TRUTH!!!!

The mythology in the book is very interesting. Each enchanter has gifts that are connected to earth, water, fire, air or ether. There are many different gifts represented in this book, some of them I have never heard before. (Or do you know what a “horrifier” does? )

The plot twist at the end destroyed me. I really can’t wait to see how the story continues. (How often did I say that?  😁)

I give this book 4/5 stars, because there were some parts where I felt like i just get information dumped on me, but other than that I absolutely loved it!

*I received this book in exchange for an honest review, but this does not influence my opinion.*

 

Leave a Reply

